Postcards from around the world 

Postcards world travel cartes postales
Postcards mailed from around the world
 Bucket List item:  Start a Collection of Something 
Thanks to a broken foot, I’ve had an unexpected windfall of time on my hands.😊. While going through my long-neglected photo library, I made a discovery that I would like to share.  It is this:  You will likely forget about many things in your travels that you thought you would never forget.

Surprised?  I was. Technically, I believe the memories are there, somewhere, but I wonder if I would have ever recalled those memories without looking through the pictures.  I also wonder what else I’ve forgotten. These thoughts sent me searching through our postcards.

For as long as I can remember, I’ve sent postcards home to myself whenever I’m on holiday.  I buy a postcard and a stamp at each new city, record significant info & events on the back, write in my home address, and mail.

I carried on this tradition after I married and had children. My kids aren’t too far from leaving the nest and they still mail postcards home when they travel– at least when travelling with me.💌  I think they knew their home address before they could tie their shoes!

It’s fun to watch the postcards trickle in after a vacation spent travelling through several cities. Depending on location and mode of transport, a postcard or two will sometimes beat us home, but usually not. Once they arrive home, postmarked and stamped with their exotic stamps, the postcards go into a cedar chest.  A lifetime of memories now sit at the foot of the bed.

So, here is some advice for those of you who think you will never forget a single moment of the exotic adventures you will be taking, or may even be on this very moment–You will forget a lot of the good stuff, so do something special for your future self.  Like what?   

 

Here are a few ideas:


  • Mail yourself postcards.  One of my favorite things to do when I’m down or otherwise need a reminder of my good fortune in life (and we all have good fortune woven through our lives whether we choose to believe it or not) is to read through a handful of these postcards.   They are always there for a quick walk down memory lane.  Some of the special ones are in a scrapbook, but most are in the cedar chest at the foot of the bed.

 

  • Keep a travel journal.  Studies have shown that the act of writing things down with pen onto paper helps us remember.  Not many things are as nostalgic as settling in to read through an old journal.  I’ve noticed that my handwriting changes dramatically with my mood–a discovery I wouldn’t have made typing up a Word document.


  • Start an Instagram account.  If you don’t already have one, start an Instagram account.  It will force you to curate your best images from the rest of the bunch.  And you know that saying about a picture being worth a thousand words?  Well, Instagram has a place for the words too.  Don’t forget to backup your computer regularly.  

To memories! 🍾🍸✨ Make new ones but don’t forget to take time to help yourself remember the ones you have already made.

Here’s wishing you safe and happy travels❤️✨and a life filled with precious memories, both old and new.
© 2017 jsf.

6 thoughts on “Postcards from around the world 

  1. I love these ideas! What you said about your handwriting changing with your moods is really true. I was really good at keeping a journal through my teens and early twenties, basically until I got married. This is the reason I wanted to start a blog, to journal our travels. That way family and friends could stay up to date and so I could look back and remember. But there is something more real about looking back trough a hand-written journal and laughing at your mistakes and stupid, naive ideas, and remembering every dirty little detail that you might not post for your mom and then whole world to read. Thanks for the reminder! I think I need to go buy a new journal 😊

    Like

  2. What a lovely idea. I love mailing postcards to people and it warms my heart when they keep them. Never thought to send any to myself! Great idea.

    Like

Leave a Reply

